Best by State.

Best Affordable Auto Insurance in Nevada
Get Free Quotes and Find the Best Coverage

The state of Nevada requires all vehicles to be properly insured to at least the legal minimum amount. Besides requesting multiple free quotes, the best way to find cheap auto insurance is by understand what coverages you really need and building a policy around them. In Nevada, it is necessary to have both bodily injury and property damage coverage (liability coverage) for your auto. Both of these coverages can be purchased as split-limit coverage or as combined single-limit coverage as long as they meet the state mandated minimums. The minimums for split-limit coverage are 15/30/10, or $15,000 for one person injured in an accident, $30,000 for two or more people injured in an accident, and $10,000 for property damage per accident. Conversely, the maximums for coverage are 100/300/50 for the same coverages. You have the option to purchase the liability coverage (both injury and property) as a combined single limit. If you elect to do this, the liability limit for bodily injury and property damage is simply combined for the minimum, so it is $40,000. Comprehensive and collision coverages are not required by Nevada law and, in certain cases, because of the age or condition of the automobile, may not be available. However, if you leased your car or borrowed money to purchase it, the dealership or lender may require you to carry this additional coverage. You are also not required to carry medical payments or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but every insurance company must offer you medical payments coverage of at least $1,000 and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in an amount equal to your bodily injury coverage by law. Finding the best and most affordable auto insurance in Nevada can be an arduous task. Thankfully here at Best Auto we have done all the hard work to help you not only get free quotes, but find the best coverage and policy in Nevada. Below is all of the essential car insurance information you need, as well as the best auto insurance companies serving the Silver State.

Understanding Nevada's Auto Insurance Requirements

Remember that the minimum requirement for car insurance differs from state to state and in order to get the best auto insurance quotes in Nevada one must understand what coverage they need. Nevada law makes it not a no-fault state that does not require any Personal Injury Protection (PIP) or coverage from uninsured motorists to be a part of your policy.

In insurance vernacular a state's basic information on minimums for coverage are presented in the Body Injury Liability for 1 person/Body Injury Liability for all people/Property Liability Damage format. Body Injury liability refers the minimum dollar amount required for one person in an accident. Body Injury Liability for all people is the minimum amount required for coverage in an accident involving at least 1 driver and 1 passenger. Property Liability Damage refers to the minimum amount required for any accident in which property is damaged. In Nevada the minimums are 25/50/25. The numbers are in thousands of dollars.

Nevada Car Insurance Facts & Car Insurance In Comparison:

  • Liability Insurance Required: No
  • Minimum Coverage Required: 25/50/25
  • No-Fault State: No
  • Personal Injury Protection Required: No
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage Required: Yes
  • Average Liability Cost: $645
  • Average Collision Cost: $345
  • Average Comprehensive Cost: $138
  • Average Cost per Year in Nevada: $1,000
  • US Average Cost: $795
  • Expense Rank: 8/51

Best Nevada Auto and Car Insurance Companies

J.D. Power
Overall Rank
Customer
Satisfaction
52%
N/R
N/A N/R
41%
N/A 53%
37%
40%
55%
N/R
N/A N/R
N/R
N/R
39%
63%
N/A 42%
34%
33%
N/R
35%
42%
N/R
N/A N/R
N/R
N/R
34%
33%
N/A 42%
N/A N/R
N/A N/R
N/A 65%
N/A N/R
N/A 34%