Best by State.

Best Affordable Auto Insurance in Virginia
Get Free Quotes and Find the Best Coverage

The Virginia Department of Insurance has very straightforward laws and attitude concerning auto insurance in the state. According to their website, the enactment of their financial responsibility law is to, "keep drivers off the highway if they cannot bear the cost of injuries or damage that they cause." In order to meet this law, drivers must have a car insurance policy, be it cheap or comprehensive or they must pay the uninsured motorist fee. For basic coverage, the auto insurance company must be licensed in Virginia to sell insurance, and must also provide the driver with at least $25,000 in liability coverage for injuries to one person in an accident, $50,000 for two people, and $20,000 for property damage. If these three criteria are met, then technically a policy is complete. Setting Virginia apart from other states, it allows drivers to operate motor vehicles that do not have insurance, if they pay the Department of Motor Vehicles a $500 uninsured motorist fee. This doesn't provide any insurance it simply allows drivers to not have insurance policies, however if they get into an accident they are financially responsible to pay all of the damages. Considering this, we know that finding the best and most affordable auto insurance in Virginia can be an arduous task. Thankfully here at Best Auto we have done all the hard work to help you not only get free quotes, but find the best coverage and policy in Virginia. Below is all of the essential car insurance information you need, as well as the best auto insurance companies serving Old Dominion.

Understanding Virginia's Auto Insurance Requirements

Remember that the minimum requirement for car insurance differs from state to state and in order to get the best auto insurance quotes in Virginia one must understand what coverage they need. Virginia does require all auto insurance policies to have coverage from uninsured motorists. However, because Virginia is not a no-fault state, it does not require Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to be a part of your policy.

In insurance vernacular a state's basic information on minimums for coverage are presented in the Body Injury Liability for 1 person/Body Injury Liability for all people/Property Liability Damage format. Body Injury liability refers the minimum dollar amount required for one person in an accident. Body Injury Liability for all people is the minimum amount required for coverage in an accident involving at least 1 driver and 1 passenger. Property Liability Damage refers to the minimum amount required for any accident in which property is damaged. In Virginia the minimums are 25/50/10. The numbers are in thousands of dollars.

Virginia Car Insurance Facts & Car Insurance In Comparison:

  • Liability Insurance Required: Yes
  • Minimum Coverage Required: 25/50/10
  • No-Fault State: No
  • Personal Injury Protection Required: No
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage Required: No
  • Average Liability Cost: $382
  • Average Collision Cost: $253
  • Average Comprehensive Cost: $113
  • Average Cost per Year in Virginia: $661
  • US Average Cost: $795
  • Expense Rank: 35/51

Best Virginia Auto and Car Insurance Companies

J.D. Power
Overall Rank
Customer
Satisfaction
52%
N/R
N/A N/R
N/A 65%
41%
N/R
N/A 53%
37%
55%
N/R
30%
N/A N/R
N/A 48%
65%
N/R
39%
63%
49%
N/A 42%
N/A 55%
34%
33%
N/R
35%
42%
N/R
N/A N/R
N/A 75%
33%
N/R
34%
33%
N/A 42%
N/R
N/A N/R
N/A N/R
N/A 65%
N/A N/R
N/A 34%