Best by State.

Best Affordable Auto Insurance in Louisiana
Get Free Quotes and Find the Best Coverage

Recently, there was a massive change to Louisiana auto insurance requirements and policy, so shopping for cheap car insurance has been thusly affected. As of January 1, 2010, the minimum financial responsibility limits for automobile insurance increased from $10,000 of bodily injury liability for one person in an accident, $20,000 for bodily injury liability for two or more people in an accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability (10/20/10) to the following rates: $15,000 bodily injury liability for one person, $30,000 bodily injury liability total for two or more people, and $25,000 in property damage liability. The legislation that increased these limits was Acts 2008 No. 921 of the Louisiana Legislature. The reasons for these changes are the rising costs of auto repair as well as the increase in traffic accidents in the state over the past 20 years. The citizens have not become worse drivers, there are simply more vehicles on the road and therefore drivers are more likely to get into an accident. It is also important to note that new policies signed after the above date will require new underinsured motorist and/or uninsured motorist coverage. This rate will vary depending on location and the type of policy you are signing up for. Finding the best and most affordable auto insurance in Louisiana can be an arduous task. Thankfully here at Best Auto we have done all the hard work to help you not only get free quotes, but find the best coverage and policy in Louisiana. Below is all of the essential car insurance information you need, as well as the best auto insurance companies serving the Pelican State

Understanding Louisiana's Auto Insurance Requirements

Remember that the minimum requirement for car insurance differs from state to state and in order to get the best auto insurance quotes in Louisiana one must understand what coverage they need. Louisiana simplifies auto insurance policies by not be a no-fault state, and not requiring Personal Injury Protection (PIP) or uninsured motorist coverage to be a part of your policy.

In insurance vernacular a state's basic information on minimums for coverage are presented in the Body Injury Liability for 1 person/Body Injury Liability for all people/Property Liability Damage format. Body Injury liability refers the minimum dollar amount required for one person in an accident. Body Injury Liability for all people is the minimum amount required for coverage in an accident involving at least 1 driver and 1 passenger. Property Liability Damage refers to the minimum amount required for any accident in which property is damaged. In Louisiana the minimums are 50/100/25. The numbers are in thousands of dollars.

Louisiana Car Insurance Facts & Car Insurance In Comparison:

  • Liability Insurance Required: Yes
  • Minimum Coverage Required: 50/100/25
  • No-Fault State: No
  • Personal Injury Protection Required: No
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage Required: Yes
  • Average Liability Cost: $646
  • Average Collision Cost: $401
  • Average Comprehensive Cost: $215
  • Average Cost per Year in Louisiana: $1,096
  • US Average Cost: $795
  • Expense Rank: 3/51

Best Louisiana Auto and Car Insurance Companies

J.D. Power
Overall Rank
Customer
Satisfaction
52%
N/R
N/A N/R
41%
N/A 53%
37%
55%
N/R
N/A N/R
N/R
39%
63%
N/A 42%
34%
N/R
35%
N/A 23%
42%
N/R
N/A N/R
N/R
N/A 75%
33%
N/R
34%
33%
N/R
N/A N/R
N/A N/R
N/A 65%
N/A N/R
N/A 34%