Best by State.

Best Affordable Auto Insurance in Hawaii
Get Free Quotes and Find the Best Coverage

Having motor vehicle insurance is essential to owning a motor vehicle in Hawaii. Hawaii State law requires that your vehicle be insured throughout the motor vehicle registration period and that you have a valid Hawaii motor vehicle insurance identification card in you motor vehicle at all times. You can be ticketed and fined if you operate a vehicle without the required motor vehicle identification card. If you don't have insurance on your motor vehicle, you must surrender the registration certificate and license plates to the county director of finance. And when you do that, you will not be able to drive the vehicle. Hawaii is a considered a "no-fault state", which means your motor vehicle insurance company will pay the bills for your injuries and your passengers' injuries up to the personal injury protection benefits ("PIP") limit. And you cannot sue or be sued unless there are serious injuries. Because "no-fault" applies to injuries, not to vehicles or property, the driver-at-fault in an accident is responsible for damages to vehicle and property. Your minimum motor vehicle insurance policy must have protection for you and your passengers of $10,000 per person personal injury protection benefits. This is for paying medical and rehabilitative costs. Your mandatory coverages also include a $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident bodily injury liability and a $10,000 per occurrence property damage liability. These cover damages for the injured party when you are at-fault in an accident. Optional coverages and options you may purchase include: collision and comprehensive, uninsured ("UM") and underinsured ("UIM") coverages, wage loss, alternative care (including healing methods such as naturopathy, acupuncture and faith healing), death benefits (coverage range from $25,000 to $100,000), funeral benefits, (the coverage is $2,000), PIP deductible and PIP managed care. Your insurance agent or company must advise you about your uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage options including your right to decline coverage in writing. You may purchase at a minimum $20,000 per person uninsured motorist coverage to pay for serious injury or death if the driver at fault does not have insurance or in case of a hit and run accident. You may also purchase at a minimum $20,000 per person underinsured motorist coverage to pay if the driver at fault does not have enough insurance. Finding the best and most affordable auto insurance in Hawaii can be an arduous task. Thankfully here at Best Auto we have done all the hard work to help you not only get free quotes, but find the best coverage and policy in Hawaii. Below is all of the essential car insurance information you need, as well as the best auto insurance companies serving the Aloha State.

Understanding Hawaii's Auto Insurance Requirements

Remember that the minimum requirement for car insurance differs from state to state and in order to get the best auto insurance quotes in Hawaii one must understand what coverage they need. As a no-fault state, Hawaii requires Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage in your car insurance policy, but does not require coverage from uninsured motorists. A no-fault state allows the person in an accident to receive their money regardless of proof that the accident was somebody's fault. However, living in a no-fault state prevents the injured party from suing for further damages, and if the insurance money is not enough to cover medical expenses, the injured party must come up with the rest of the funds for treatment.

In insurance vernacular a state's basic information on minimums for coverage are presented in the Body Injury Liability for 1 person/Body Injury Liability for all people/Property Liability Damage format. Body Injury liability refers the minimum dollar amount required for one person in an accident. Body Injury Liability for all people is the minimum amount required for coverage in an accident involving at least 1 driver and 1 passenger. Property Liability Damage refers to the minimum amount required for any accident in which property is damaged. In Hawaii the minimums are 25/50/15. The numbers are in thousands of dollars.

Hawaii Car Insurance Facts & Car Insurance In Comparison:

  • Liability Insurance Required: Yes
  • Minimum Coverage Required: 25/50/15
  • No-Fault State: No
  • Personal Injury Protection Required: No
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage Required: No
  • Average Liability Cost: $524
  • Average Collision Cost: $314
  • Average Comprehensive Cost: $117
  • Average Cost per Year in Hawaii: $837
  • US Average Cost: $795
  • Expense Rank: 16/51

Best Hawaii Auto and Car Insurance Companies

J.D. Power
Overall Rank
Customer
Satisfaction
52%
N/R
N/A N/R
41%
N/A 53%
37%
55%
N/R
63%
N/A 42%
34%
N/R
35%
N/A 23%
42%
N/R
N/A N/R
33%
34%
33%
N/R
N/A N/R
N/A N/R
N/A 65%
N/A N/R
N/A 34%